Homemade Laundry Soap!

I went to drop some laundry in the machine when I remembered I’d run out of soap. I’d made the last batch 9 weeks ago, at 3 or 4 loads a week, so somewhere between 27 & 36 washings a batch. My investment of about 12.50 is the base of my laundry cost for the year. That’s 5 1/2 batches, and I think they will be that many cups washing soda & Borax per box. All I’ll need to buy is 2 bars of soap every 9 weeks. That’s about 35.55 a year total.

I use half a bar of Fels Napatha, and am trying Kirk’s Coco Castile bar soap for the second. A friend uses it and said she doesn’t need a fabric softener it’s so nice.

The catch is you need to add it to the water & hand agate before adding clothes. And you’ll need to pretreat your stains. I rub them with cold water & dish soap as soon as possible.

I think the cost, lack of chemicals, and voting with my dollar is worth the 15 minutes it takes to make it. You can find the supplies in the laundry aisle, grouped together.

Happy Washing!

About dancingkarmamama

I'm a natural food and home loving mama. My biggest job/joy is nurturing my two favorite people in the world, my husband and daughter. Gardening, cooking, and tromping through the forest are my passion.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

