5th Week Pictures

Summer has run away with us, I’m a few weeks behind in posting pictures. But we’ve been having sooo much fun! I hope you have too.

We’ve had a wonderful few days walking down to water the garden & catch fireflies. My injured foot is healed enough to get back to work in the garden, with proper shoes of course. I have the last bit of planting to do. Quick turn last years lasagna gardens, for late squash & watermelons.

I’d read about fermented nettle tea as a fertilizer, and had some in the tea herbs and thought I’d make my own. I haven’t fermented anything on purpose till this. I added about 1 tablespoon of dried nettles, and a good pinch of dried raspberry leaves for calcium, poured about 2 cups of hot water over it and caped the jar. I shook it every day to mix it up, and opened the lid to check if it had fermented yet. I knew if started when the lid popped when opening it the 3rd day. I let it sit a another 2 days to really get it working, letting the pressure out each day. I then diluted it to make 2 watering cans full, and watered all the garden babies.

About dancingkarmamama

I'm a natural food and home loving mama. My biggest job/joy is nurturing my two favorite people in the world, my husband and daughter. Gardening, cooking, and tromping through the forest are my passion.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

