Time to Plant?

The heat wave broke, we had a whole day of rain and cool breezes. It was amazing to wake to the sound of rain in puddles, it had been so long I forgot the sound of puddles. I started going through my seeds for a second planting for a late fall harvest and greens to last all winter. I’m reading the drought will be felt the strongest outside the US. I’m going to do my part so it’s not felt at my house. The next day was cool, with dark clouds headed our way. We dashed off to plant before the rain came.

I planted 3 rows of early beets, carrots, 2 kinds of lettuce, broccoli, bok choy, 2 rows of walking onion sets, rainbow chard, and transplanted 2 rows of kale sprouts. The kale is a winter hardy verity called Red Siberian. I harvested kale all last winter, the mature root stock has the very first of springs greens. So I know I’ll have plenty for my neighbors (you won’t get tired of chewing greens if you make soup ;))

About dancingkarmamama

I'm a natural food and home loving mama. My biggest job/joy is nurturing my two favorite people in the world, my husband and daughter. Gardening, cooking, and tromping through the forest are my passion.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

